GRILLED = Exceptional dinner recommendation!

Today I met some friends at a Mediterranean Grill; a restaurant called the “Wild Fig.”  Diabetics should run, not walk, to this eatery.  Almost everything is grilled, no butter in sight.  I ordered a combo special consisting of grilled salmon and a lamb and vegetable kebab.  A friend ordered the shrimp and lamb kebabs. My sister ordered the shrimp and lamb kebabs, with a salad on the side.  Mine came with steak fries and my friends arrived with grilled vegetables.  We split both.  In the end, I had not quite a third of the fries and half of the vegetables. Perfect.  I was a little concerned about the fries, but when I took my post-dinner glucose, it was 118.

Every single dish that passed our table was a vision, and “ooo’s” and “ahhh’s” were heard throughout the restaurant. The grilled delights were spectacular, and the salads amazing (beware of the feta…). The presentation was exceptional, as was the service. I love the wedges of lemon on the side; squeezing them over the dish adds a zip! I’m not a food critic, that’s for sure. But, I know what’s good for the diabetic pallet, and I highly recommend Wild Fig.

Dining out can be difficult for a diabetic, but this time, the choices were easy. Bottom line — a fine meal was had by all!

Leave a Reply

